Online support for your marriage

Free Tell A Friend from Bravenet

Home > Forums
2-in-2-1 Discussion Forums  

Go Back   2-in-2-1 Discussion Forums > Chapel > Christian Marriage

Old 13th November 2010, 11:10 PM   #1
prkr

Christian marrying former Christian/new atheist

As a committed Christian whose fiancee just decided she is now an atheist I could really use some counsel on this...

I'm a 40 year-old Christian teacher, the son of a minister. I only became a Christian myself (i.e., actually became a disciple, not a Sunday attendant) in my late 20s. Because I teach in the arts I spend most of my day around those who do not practice a faith themselves. (A generalization, I know, but one that I have found to be true.) This bothers me not a whit. I actually take great joy in being able to be an "out" Christian to friends and colleagues who later approach me with questions. As well, I am very comfortable with a wide range of cultural fare and religious expression. I see many films with challenging scenari, enjoy plays with salty language, and find contemporary art considered by some to be scandalous to be interesting and beautiful.

Last year I very happily became engaged to a 30 year-old teacher, one who self-identified as Christian, was raised as such, and even joined my church (Lutheran). I knew she was less... energetic about her faith than I in mine; it would be fair to say she considered herself a cultural Christian rather than practiced actively as part of a faith community. I knew this, but felt hopeful proposing to her for four reasons: 1) I love her and she's my best friend; 2) I see God in her life, spirit, and work; 3) If she never increased her level of engagement it would have been tolerable; and finally and perhaps stupidly, 4) I hoped that, through my own worship and activity, she might grow her own faith.